In many countries today, young people prefer to spend their leisure time in shopping centres instead of doing organised leisure activities, such as sports or music. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, youngsters are spending their free time in malls rather than organised leisure activities like games and music because may be lack of proper guidance. It is well known that children who utilise their time in learning new skills are more successful than who waste their time in shopping malls. From my perspective, it is a negative development and in this essay, I will shed light on how it is so. Choosing market as a means of spending leisure time wastes both time and money. In other words, youth go for shopping and movies whenever they are free that demands large amount of time as well as money. As a evidence, if we got holidays, we would go to market to buy new stuffs which may be not needed at that time. For a single object we have to roam around many shops and we may buy some extra things as well that will kill our precious time and money. Secondary, it has seen that children who are bright and ambitious choose to spend their leisure time in games and music which help them to keep fit and stress free. That is to say, adolescents who love to enjoy their holidays by roaming in crowded place do not have any goal. On the other hand, students who are involved in sports and music can develop themselves as multi talented person. That means, if pupils will be engaged in organised leisure works then they can learn new skills other than their studies. For instance, a single person can be an engineer and singer at the same time if he/she will focus on study and practice singing in free time. Moreover, sport make people healthy and stress free and youngsters who are involved in sports can develop it as their career. To sum up, being busy in shopping areas in free time is a negative development because it waste our time and money as well as distract us from our goal, whereas, investing leisure time in games and music keep us fit and help in developing new skills.