In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Books and TV shows have always been a source of information and entertainment to the masses. They are also easily accessible to people all across the globe and range in genres from romance and comedy to thrillers and crime. The crime genre has gained popularity off late with innumerable viewers from around the world. One possible reason from crime to be a genre of interest is that such novels and TV shows often portray the reality around us. Robbery, cheating and murder are everyday occurrences that we hear about in the news and it is human nature to be curious about how such events and situations are planned and executed. In some cases, knowing of the thought process behind such crimes be a head's up to those unaware of such occurrences and give them hints on what they should be careful about. This can apply more in white collar crimes. For example, I once received a phone call from someone saying that they were from the bank and needed my account details to prevent it from being blocked. However, when I questioned them about the authenticity of their identification, they cut the call, only proving that I was about to be scammed. Another possible reason for the crime genre to be popular is the mystery and curiosity of the plot. Some novels and shows often not only describe how a crime is committed but often have a protagonist finding the truth behind it by following clues and leads. Sherlock Holmes is an apt example for this. Each short story is thrilling to read, the clues and guessing grasping the readers' and watchers' interest strongly. There is some sense of satisfaction in connecting the dots and reaching an unexpected conclusion along with the protagonist. In my opinion, though there is creativity and an intellect-stirring part to crime, there is also the negative impact it has on our emotions. It is said that we are influenced by the things we see around us, so watching a lot of violence or reading about negative things can cause problems such as short-temper, diminishing social skills, etc. The creativity of how crimes are carried out too can give actual criminals ideas on how to carry out their crimes better. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages in the crime genre and it is up to us to distinguish between them. Limiting the amount of exposure to this genre can be a good way to do this, along with exposing ourselves wo the many other genres we have access to.