In many countries, there is lot of rubbish because more and more people biy things. What are the causes? How this can be reduced?

In this contemporary epoch, increase in garbage at an alarming rate has become cause of deep concern for many nations around the world because of people's habit of buying more things. There are numerous factors responsible for the growth of this issue, but at the same time, potential remedies are also existing which can play a key role in dealing with this menace. The reason due to which the issue is becoming rampant are many out of which the most remarkable one is that people are indulging in the habit of consumerism because of which they buy new things and discard old or defective items frequently. Therefore, these discarded products lead to increase in the level of garbage. Besides these waste items, the huge packaging of new items involves so many layers of polythene, bubble wrap and cardboard box all go to the dustbin. Even though, every small item is wrapped at least in one or two polythene bags. So, these alll things contribute to this issue. Probing ahead, rampant use of the disposable products during special occasions like marriage s, birthday parties and religious functions also holds the accountability for the growing quantity of litter. These all items are non-biodegradable and could not be destroyed for many years. Hence, heaps of debris have become the most common scene in every city. For instance, a recent survey has shown that about 40 per cent of the garbage is used disposable utensils during festivities is the cause for the erection of landfill sites. After diagnosing the root cause, certain instrumental and effective remedies can be adopted which can bring this problem down. One of the influential measure is that government should wide awake people about the adverse ramifications of this menace and should enact and enforce the law to mitigate the use of plastic bags and packing also. For instance, In country such as India some regions have enforced the blanket ban on the use of polythene bags by public and shopkeepers too. Turning towards another measure, people should try to recycle and reuse objects rather athan discarding old things and buying new one. Ot would be conducive to curb the problem of waste management. Bringing this matter to the end, it can be asserted that despite the fact that consumerism and uncontrolled use of disposable things is promoting this issue, one suitable measure banning plastic use and encouraging people to harness paper bag and home-made cloth bag could be implemented.