In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Technological change and the increase in personal wealth have contributed to the improvement in life expectancy. Although the older generation can play an important role in society, I believe this demographic change can cause some social issues. One problem associated with an ageing population is that the health care cost will increase, and it can impose a heavy burden on taxpayers. Most medical needs and costs are more likely to increase in the later years. Therefore, it is necessary for the government to pour money into taking care of the elderly. This may have a negative impact on the investment in schools and other facilities. Another possible problem is that the pace of work is slow, as the number of senior workers increases. With age, people tend to perform poorly in absorbing information and completing work. If senior workers prolong their working lives, their performance may have a damaging effect on companies' productivity and profitability. On the other hand, many people will choose to postpone retirement and extend their working life, and their experience and wisdom are regarded as a valuable asset to the whole society. As they live longer and healthier lives, many of them choose to stay in the workforce. They are experts in their fields of work. They are able to impart their knowledge and skills to the younger generation as consultants. For example, some experienced managers tend to teach young people how to manage a company and to provide better services to clients. In conclusion, the considerable extension of life expectancy has presented a challenge to health care in many countries, and it can result in a drop in productivity. This can have a negative effect on the economy, although we can tap into the wisdom of elderly people.