Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam" How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Every one has seen at least one image of a big metropolitan city as New York, London or Berlin and if you compare the outlook of this cities with one of a country-side city, it is easily evident one difference: the massive amount of streets and cars. From my point of view it is completely true that cities have developed too much space for cars. I believe this change has happened in light of the fact that the welfare and the income of the common people has increased: to own a car in no longer a privilege, but an affordable tool everyone thinks to need and that essential. Indeed, a plethora of factors can show this and are and evidence of this change: the higher lever of air pollution in cities and the consequently reducement of air quality, which has led to numerous diseases to the popolation (experts hightlight an higher percentage of lung cancer in no-smokers). If we look at the development of big cities in the last thirty years through maps, we can notice that an essential change has been done to streets, which have been improved and extented more and more, in order to copy with the wider amount of personal cars. Traffic is a problem which has to be solved in order to solve various problems: air and noise pollution, traffic and to give more green spaces: the means are numerous. Firstly, an awareness campaign about the pollution generated from cars and the consequences to the environment and to our health: knowledge and awareness are the firsts steps when we want to make a paramount change. Secondly, transports tickets should be cheaper and transports improved to give better performances. Moreover, might be a good idea to estabilish some areas with limited traffic. Although own a car is very comfy and frequently is the favourite choice, a numerous amount of alternative possibilities are avaible, and bikes are one of them. For instance, Holland has developed a system in Amsterdam in which is easier and cheaper to move if you have a bike, instead of a car. In conclusion, I believe that the higher amount of cars is a real problem and it is all about the structure of the cities: it should allows citizens to prefer an sustainble choice.