In many countries the proportion of elderly people is increasing. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The ageing population saw an increase in many countries. I believe that drawbacks of this phenomena outweigh benefits. One of the main benefits of elderly population increasing is child care. For example, most of parents have a busy career nowadays. They are less likely to take care of children on their own. Instead, their retired relatives take over the responsibility. Another advantages is that we can gain many knowledge and experiences from senior people. Moreover, elderly people often accumulate many experiences from their daily life. If they can share their ideas or opinion, it will definitely benefits to our society. However, there are also disadvantages of ageing population is the burden on healthcare system. When people aging, they need more healthcare resources such as long-term medication and surgery expenses. Furthermore, they may potentially consume all of their pension to cover medical or living expenses. As a result, they need to rely much on social welfare system. Another drawback is that increasing elderly group could cause labor shortage in the country. For instances, elders are more likely to have physical limitation compare to younger adult. Hence, they are unlikely to be a workforce and contribute to economy. Overall, it seems to me that disadvantages of increasing elderly people outweigh advantages.