Can individuals take actions that protect the environment?

Environmental protection can be the responsibility of each person. Each person can make an important impact with small changes related to caring for the environment. There are many ways that individuals can take actions in order to protect the environment such as buying environmentally friendly products which include reusable and recyclable products and electronic devices with EnergyStar ratings. Another way for an individual to help the environment is by applying the 3Rs, which is reuse, reduce and recycle. People can start practicing 3Rs by reducing consumption of disposable products, reusing and recycling items when applicable instead of throwing them away or putting them in landfills. On the other hand, the individuals who are passionate about protecting the environment and work for government agencies or international organizations can encourage the citizens to be aware of their responsibilities in terms of protecting the environment because not everyone is aware of it. There is a study showing that after the introduction of a campaign “say no to single use of plastic” launched by a climate change organization, there was a reduction in the number of plastic wastes. Being informed of the action individuals can take part in and the consequences of taking the actions, individuals might be more active in protecting and avoiding harm to the environment.