In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

In recent times, crime has become a global issue and is increasing at an alarming rate. In this essay, I will examine some factors contributing to this problem and will also suggest some solutions for the same. There are several reasons for the increase in crime levels. One of the reasons that is often given is the increasing gap between the rich and the poor. One good illustration of this is that the people who are in dire need are bound to steal for their livelihood. Furthermore, illegal activities such as the consumption of drugs have also contributed a lot in enhancing the crime level around the globe. For instance, According to recent news reports, in many countries like Mexico and, Iran, drug addiction has contributed significantly in enhancing violence levels. Finally, although not a major cause but violence in television and game is also a contributing factor to violence. However, solutions are available to tackle this problem. Firstly, more satisfactory jobs need to be created for poor. In fact, a recent study has concluded that majority of crimes can be curbed if basic necessities of people are met. Furthermore, there has been little success in the war against drugs, so taking stringent actions against drug traffickers can be another solution. To exemplify, the rising crime rate in Punjab can be halted easily by checking the cross border drug supply from Pakistan. After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel that even though crime is a growing global problem, mainly caused by the lack of basic necessities and unlawful activities, various methods such as creating new jobs and taking severe actions are available which can prevent this from worsening.