In many countries, the government costs of the arts are millions in taxpayers’ money. There are many more important things to spend money on. Do you agree?

These days, various art forms have gained more publicity since there is a rising demand from societies for the enjoyment of artistic works. In many countries, total expenditure for the arts can amount to millions/large proportion in taxpayer’s money in order to maintain and develop it. However, I believe that there are still more important things in the country that government should make investment in. First, governments should attach greater importance in strengthening healthcare and wellbeing system. In many countries, there is a considerable concern about hospital overload or lack of interoperability that might culminate in serious condition during an epidemic disease. Therefore, it would be more imperative for those nations to provide funds for modern equipment and ensure the amount of qualified doctors and nurses is adequate. Besides, governments should also reduce health costs and spend money on the implement of charity programs to support impoverished patients. The idea that elderly pp/impoverished pp have to wait for essential operation while a great amount of money is spent on opera and ballet is plainly immoral In addition, it is essential for the countries’ leadership to make investment in the improvement of infrastructures. Those public works should be properly maintained and repaired frequently, especially transport facilities to prevent unfortunate accidents. According to many studies, crumbling bridges or roads have their toll on human life, which had contributed to numerous highway fatalities in the world. Furthermore, in areas vulnerable to natural calamities, expenditure on repairs could be higher since public infrastructures would get faltering much more easily. Some might claim that the development of the arts should be encouraged to promote tourism in the country. However, the social security of people must always be the governments’ paramount consideration. To conclude, it is my belief that in most countries, taxpayers’ money should be allocated more for the improvement of healthcare and infrastructure rather than the arts.