: Describe a festival that you have attended in your country. (You should mention its location, ceremony section, festival section, activities, ect. ) What do you dislike about the festival? How do you want them to be changed?

In the spring of 2019, I had a chance to visit the Lim festival in Bac Ninh and it became the most memorable experience for me. The Lim festival is one of the most famous feast-days in Viet Nam. Situated in Van Tuong, Tien Son, Bac Ninh, Lim pagoda located on the top of Hong Van mountain. Visitors come there to make some wishes about luck, health, prosperities, ect. . . and they also pray for their wishes to come true. The Lim festival is held annually on the 13th of lunar January but it was canceled in 2020 and 2021 because of the Covid-19 pandemic. As other festival in Viet Nam, Lim festival is also divided into 2 parts: festival section and ceremony section. The centre of this festival is the beginning when they pick up tutelary god of village, male and female who have deserve service to the country in the Co Lang temple, Hong Van tomb, Do Nguyen Thuy tomb. The crowed of village who join in this procession all wore colorful antique costumes. After this parade, people started to thurify and worship Buddha along with midwife A in Hong Van temple. The atmosphere there was really great but there were too many people, so it was really hard for me to watch all the parade. The ceremony section is funnier and has more things to do. After the pilgrimage, tourist can join many outside activities such as wrestling, cooking rice examination, human chess, . . . But I think the most attracted activity in Lim festival is Hat Hoi. Lien Anh (male) wore Xep scarf and Lien Chi (female) wore Non Quai Thao, they will sing some specific songs of Bac Ninh. These songs are known as Quan Ho Bac Ninh which was recognized as an intangible cultural heritage of humanity in 2009 by UNESCO. Quan Ho Bac Ninh is mixed between rhythm and poem, these songs often talk about love, the conditions of people and objects, also the husband and wife life, ect. . . . Until now I have never forgotten that flow, it always repeats in my mind when I remember about the Lim festival. Beside all the attractions in Lim festival, there is a negative point that I do not like there. It is about the waste problem. Because thousands of people come there each feast-day, the amount of trash is very huge. Actually, I easily found a rubbish bin on the way I went, but I seldom see a person that throws garbage in the right place. All that garbage was going to damage the environment in Lim Pagoda. I was really worried to see the scene after tourists went and all the things left over in Lim pagoda were just trash and garbage. I hope every tourist who comes to the Lim festival in the future will pay attention at that point and throw the garbage in the rubbish bin. This action looks small to a person, but if thousands of tourists all do that, there will not be any Lim pagoda or Lim festival in the future. The Lim festival is one of the light spots in spiritual tourism of VietNam, it attracts thousands of tourists each year. In spite of some weakness about garbage problems, price, … I think the government will have solutions in the near future. Hopefully each tourist will have some behaviors to prevent Lim pagoda from rubbish and to make Lim pagoda become a worthy place to visit.