In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think ate the main causes of crime? How can we deal with these causes?

There has been spike in crime rate in many countries, as a result of easy access to guns and other dangerous weapons; and secondly, poor standard of living of the majority of the citizens. This essay will expatiate the above stated reasons and also the possible solutions. The rate of violent and non-violent crime has been on the increase recently in many nations around the world, because of the ease of acquiring guns and weapons by the criminal elements in the society, either legally or illegally, for carrying out their vice on the innocent citizens. Like the USA recently, there has been an increase of gun violence among individuals, which has resulted in the death of many, because most citizens can easily acquire any weapon of their choice. This has led many groups to clamour for a more stringent gun control policy. Another reason for the rise in crime rates in many countries, is the poor standard of living of the people. In Nigeria, for example, there is an upsurge in kidnapping, rape, stealing and murder in the core North, this is a result of years of neglect by the government due to poor leadership and corruption. So the people have no choice but to resort to crime as self-help. However, the upsurge in crime can be curtailed by; firstly, the Government's active involvement in enacting an effective gun control policy, restricting the easy access to guns and other dangerous weapons, as this will go a long way in solving the problem. Secondly, Political Leaders in positions of authority should do all that is necessary to improve the living conditions of their citizens, to avoid a total breakdown of law and order, and possibly leads to anarchy.