In many countries, sports and exercises classes are replaced with academic subject. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Exercising is crucial to many students’ health. However, in several nations, physical education classes are substituted by academic ones. In my opinion, the advantages of this trend are pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Admittedly, such a replacement can yield some benefits for the performance of schoolchildren. Given a higher number of core subjects classes, such as maths, literature, or languages, students will have more time to do various types of assignments and explore aspects of the subjects that are not taught by teachers. Consequently, they can gain more knowledge and be better prepared for periodic examinations. Additionally, this educational trend also benefits low-performing children as they have more periods to cover loopholes in their understanding, thus boosting their results in tests. Apparently, this substitution at school is conducive to the academic performance of students. Nevertheless, I believe that the declining number of sports classes results in graver outcomes. First, it puts considerable stress on students’ mental well-being. The absence of physical education classes means students cannot do activities such as running, playing sports, or socializing with classmates. As a result, they would be prevented from relaxing and relieving the pressures caused by studying academic subjects. Second, the lack of exercise in the long-term may render schoolchildren to lead a sedentary lifestyle, as they are accustomed to sitting long hours to learn. If there are no changes in the school’s curriculum, these children are more prone to obesity as cardiovascular diseases as they age. Therefore, fewer sports classes pose are harmful to both the physical and mental health of students. In conclusion, my firm belief is that the demerits of this trend are weightier than its merits. Although students can study better if more time is allocated to academic subjects, it is insensible to exchange improved school results for increasing health risks.