in many countries people do not use alternative energy sources nor do they try their best to protect the environment. What do you think is the cause of their indifference? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Technology on alternative energy sources has shown great progress in recent years, including solar energy and wind power, among others. However, many countries have not made the necessary steps towards these solutions, which in my opinion are essential for the protection of the environment. The reasons for the indifference shown by governments, companies and citizens in general can be traced to political, economical and even environmental. First and foremost, non-renewable energy sources are politically swayed, which means that in countries where fossil fuels are backed by the government, there is little room for sustainable energy to expand. At the same time, concerns about the real efficiency of alternative energy sources have risen. It is true that, although they are less harmful, they also have environmental impacts, some of which are significant. However, the main reason why numerous countries are so indifferent towards sustainable energy is the cost of building and installing the equipment. People in third world countries are struggling for basic needs, never mind the luxury of wind parks and solar panels. Also, in developed countries, the fact that renewable energy has trouble creating the same amount of power as fossil fuels is making investors reluctant. Even more so when there are rumors about their efficiency. Considering the importance of the matter, it is equally vital to rethink our opinions and habits on energy sources. Educating young kids on environmental issues is the easiest solution, since they are the future habitants of the earth. The challenging task will be older generations, who are used to their ways, and are not comfortable with changes. Personally, I suggest international institutions take responsibility to inform civilians and expand the usage of sustainable energy, due to their wide influence. In conclusion, alternative sources of energy are essential for the future of our planet, investing in them will mean investing on the environment. Overcoming the barriers is critical, so organizations will have to act in the next few years in order to increase the use of new technologies.