Globalisation has been the buzz word of the 21st century, a concept that has always been debated due to the positive aspects such as economic growth and cultural exchange on the one hand and the depletion of national identity on the other.

Globalisation has been the buzz word of the 21st century, a concept that has always been debated due to the positive aspects such as economic growth and cultural exchange on the one hand and the depletion of national identity on the other. Let us go back in history in order to understand this idea in a better way. Mesopotamia, the cradle of civilization is where it all started; when nomads settled near the Tigris and Euphrates rivers. From there people migrated to various parts of the world taking with them the language, culture and beliefs of the fertile crescent and adding to it everything they learned along the way. Trade and transport evolved and the rest as we know, is history! We should remember that globalization is not a new phenomenon and us humans have always migrated looking for greener pastures. With people travelling for business and pleasure, our minds become more tolerant and our intelligences get developed. We learn about other cultures - their festivals and cuisines and we realize how similar we all are in spite of our differences. People do argue that due to this exchange, we lose our national identity. Inter-cultural marriage, encouragement for refugees and dilution of religious values are often quoted as outcomes. Nations are very proud of their history, heritage and culture. They worry that when this gets diluted, our future generations will be unaware of their roots and uncertain of what makes them unique in this world of billions of individuals. Subsequently, they desire to preserve as much of their identity as possible. In my opinion, there is no such thing as national identity. Each country is the sum product of years of borrowed culture, migration, trade, religion, tradition and language. Interactions with other countries or its citizens does not cause the loss of national identity, in fact it makes a country culturally intelligent and tolerant towards people who seem different, but really are all the same. Isn’t this tolerance the way forward in order to cure our damaged planet, ravaged with wars and diseases?