In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, many individuals resort to the practice of dumping more wastes than ever before. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend, and the negative consequences it can lead to. Not only are people consuming more these days, but also they are wasting too much that goes straight into the garbage. The main reason behind this situation is due to the increase in wages compared to the past. For instance, while the average salary those days were around 500 dollars a month, the same type of jobs these days pay close to 4, 000 dollars which inevitably means people have more disposable income. Due to this, they tend to spend lavishly even on the things they don't need. Yet another reason for the throw-away culture is because of modern lifestyle. Instead of cooking food at home, youngsters these days buy packaged foods at supermarkets which are easy to eat, and then trash the package. For example, many employees these days purchase a burger or a pizza from local stores for their lunch which are handed over in plastic bags. There are quite a few negative consequences because of disposing of products. Although people buy more, it is oftentimes seen that they are tempted to spend on whatever they like at the first sight, even if they don't have enough savings. Thanks to the credit card system by which people can now buy and pay later. However, it results in massive debt, and in many cases it has led to bankruptcy. In addition, disposing plastic is a major concern for many governments. It takes years to decompose as they are non-biodegradable. Most often, these plastic bags and containers are burnt or disposed into seas which leads to pollution and ultimately leads to the death of many sea animals and plants. To cite an example, it has been observed that many fishes were dead in Australian water bodies since the seas were accumulated with plastic all over, that didn't allow the fishes to breathe. To conclude, disposing products to a larger extent is due to increased salaries and modern day lifestyle. The demerits of it includes humans succumbing to massive debts, and pollution as well as death of flora and fauna.