In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Mobile phones have become an essential part of our lives. Our dependancy on our phones compels us to carry it around everywhere we go. There has been a growing trend in many countries to pay using apps installed on their phones, be it paying bills, online shopping or buying things at the store. In this essay, I will be discussing the merits and demerits of the increased use of payment applications. There are many apps like GooglePay, PayPal etc which are easily available and sometimes pre loaded on our cellphones. These apps provide us the flexibility to pay for our purchases anytime and anywhere. The usability of these options is really simple and can be learnt by any age group. These apps provide the option to manage all your bank accounts from a single platform, thus eliminating the need for carrying bulky wallets to keep physical credit/debit cards. For e. g. it would be much easier to select the GPAY option at checkout rather than entering the lenghty digits of your card for online shopping. The discount coupons and offers provided by these apps are an added advantage. Although, the benefits of using these apps is great, one cannot ignore its relience on good mobile networks. If the network or wifi reception is not good in the area, this app becomes useless as it cannot connect to the servers. The delayed connectivity issues may result in longer lines at any a store checkout which may leave the customers frustrated. We also need to be mindful that this is virtual money i. e. we cannot physically hold currency in out hands. This may lead to exessive spending as you may ignore to check your balance at the end of each transaction. Another potential risk is the increase in online frauds which makes our accounts vunerable in case of any cyber attacks In conclusion, it is fair to say that using payment apps on our cellphones has many advantages, as long as one is careful to not share any sensitive information relating to their accounts with anyone.