In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Mobile phone is revolutionary, it has become a major tool for the contemporary society. In 21st century mobile payment have been taking over the traditional payment method. Some believe that it has more pros than cons, while other think otherwise. I belief that it has its own advantages over the old payment modes, the bellow essay will discuss the various advantages with relevant examples. Firstly, mobile payment is far more secure, as it has an additional level of security to get the payment through. Added steps of security like 'UPI pin' and OTP (one time password) make mobile payment naturally more secure over the other payment method's. For instance, debit and credit card scams are more common in the recent times. Moreover, in the recent studies it is evident that ATM card's are 90% more vulnerable compared to mobile payment modes, in my country ATM card scams are more commonly noticed as it requires just the card details to extract money through the bank account. Secondly, mobile payment is far more convenient, smart phone is become a necessity in this modern times. We keep our smart phones on us almost all the time, this makes the mobile phone instinctively more convenient to use. To exemplify, mobile payment is now popularly accepted in almost all the stores and small businesses, as it has proven its worth by being more secure and easy to use. with just a few taps the payment is sent directly to the shopkeeper's bank account, moreover, the shopkeeper receives a verification message to his or her mobile phone confirming the payment. This convenient way of payment has no doubt taken over the traditional payment methods as the norm in the recent times. To conclude, although mobile payment has its own disadvantages, it has proven its worth by being more secure and convenient. Thereby contributing to the vast outbreak of users.