In many countries parents worry about the amount of time children spend watching TV and using the internet. What do you think are the causes of this, what solutions can you suggest

Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or a computer screen, therefore parents are getting more and more concerned. This is due to lack of other activities out of school and bad time management. Children are not engaged enough in out of school activities thus they compensate by viewing television. . Watching TV is a passive way to spend time with no social interaction. . Spending a lot of time in front of computer or TV screens limit’s a child time for other activities. That’s why it is crucial t to organize free time in a more beneficial way. That being said another major cause is that parents do not set reasonable limits for their children. This might be due to intensity of modern life, parents are often too busy to supervise their children properly. For many parents, it is just easier to turn on the television than to actually be involved in the lives of their children. As a result they spend a large amount of their free time watching TV programs and sometimes neglecting their homework. There are two effective solutions to tackle this issue. Firstly parents should make sure their children are involved in other activities. Physical exercise and playing with other children are essential for healthy development. Its important to plan other fun activities, so the child has choices instead of screen time. Secondly parents and children should agree to a limit of television time. If its nry TV/s and computers should be removed from the child bedroom. Conclusively, using computers and viewing television over an extensive period of time among children comes as a result of having no other thing to do and using time ineffectively. Parents should never leave this issue unattended, but start taking precautions such as limiting their screen time and substitute the latter with more outdoor activities.