In many countries, online shopping has experienced an unstoppable rise of popularity and eclipsed in-store

In many countries, online shopping has experienced an unstoppable rise of popularity and eclipsed in-store shopping. I believe the trend has both pros and cons, which will be analysed in this essay. The negative impacts of shopping online have been much discussed. To begin with, as online customers cannot touch and feel the product physically before making the buying decision, the delivered item may not match their expectations. This may result in customers’ frustration as their time and money are wasted on something they are not satisfied with. Moreover, when people place orders and complete their payment online/complete their online transactions, they run the risk of being victimised by computer crimes, such as ID theft. As a sad truth, e-commerce has been a breeding ground for hi-tech crimes as not every online customer knows how to protect their personal information. In addition, now that the process of buying things online is eased, many fail to resist the temptation to buy more. This not only creates a financial burden on an individual but also add a significant pressure on the environment, taking into account/considering the staggering volumes of waste produced every day. Despite the disadvantages, online shopping has its unique advantages. Firstly, shopping online helps save people’s time and efforts as they have things delivered to door without having to move away from their desks. Secondly, this trend helps promote international trade as goods and services are now enabled to move transnationally. On a smaller scale, the trend is good for small businesses and sole traders as they can set up a business and start making profit without spending too much on rents or staffing. Last but not least, as brands compete to win customers’ hearts online, customers can enjoy much more freedom of choice. This helps create smarter consumers and inspire companies to strive for better products and services. In the end, the above analyses show that shopping online has both pros and cons; however, I believe it is an inevitable trend given the fast- paced development of e-commerce.