In many countries, more and more shops are open long hours everyday, what are the positive and negative developments of this situation.

In the pre-industrialization era, the idea of lengthy working hours was pretty much unknown to many people. But nowadays, due to increased globalization, people are working 24 hours a day and 7 a week. As a result, businessmen and entrepreneurs in many countries are opening their shops for the extended periods of time. This trend has both pros and cons associated with it. The main advantages are, the people who are working till late evenings and the night shifts will be able to buy whatever they need. Many cities like London, Mumbai and New York have vibrant night lives, since lot of individuals are embracing this new trend, shopping round the clock would definitely help them for good. Let us consider me as an example, I spent many years working in night shifts. Whenever I felt hungry, I ordered food online and a late-night worker delivered the food to me. 50 years ago, if someone continued to work till the end of the day, unlike today, they wouldn’t have got anything to eat outside or buy something. Increased employment can also be considered as one of the benefits. Some of the major down sides are, stress and health issues. There are some proven studies that reported, people who worked long hours are easily prone to various diseases like diabetics and obesity. Not just physically, there can be a significant negative impact on mental health too. When I was working in the night shifts, no matter how well I took care of myself, I still felt mentally stressed. To conclude, in my opinion, the advantages clearly overweigh the disadvantages. If health concerns are taken care, I see no reason to look at it in a bad way.