In many countries, laws are passed by politicians and elected officials. Individual citizens elect their leaders but they do not vote on laws directly. Law-making would be improved if more decisions were made by referendum. In other words, important issues should be decided by individual voters and not by politicians. Support your position and provide examples

Many believe that more laws should be directly decided by individuals through referendum instead of being chosen by their representers. I totally disagree with this view since citizens don't have enough general knowledge and law-making should include discussion. I don't believe it would have been better if individual voters were making more political decisions. The average person lacks experience and awareness on specific issues because of not reading enough or not being involved in politics. It may not have time to spend on gathering informations about legal problems or even it may not be interested at all. For instance, a referendum on an obligatory Green Pass would be difficult to pass and many would oppose because people are scared of vaccines and of seeing their freedoms restricted. In addition to this, laws should be preferably made trough debate in a proper forum by elected officials. Politicians exchanging different or even opposite ideas is a good starting point to clarify controversial and unclear parts of a law text. Even minor opinions are included in a parliamentary discussion, meaning everyone's interests are protected and each has the ability to make an impact. In the Italian Parliament there are, for example, commissions made up of experts in different fields who can help and guide the draw up of a law by suggesting any relevant element in a matter. In conclusion, despite the common thought that solutions to problems are best decided by individuals by means of referendum, laws should continued to be created by politicians since people lack the sufficient knowledge and can't discuss their views.