In many countries, governments spend large sums of money on decorations such as lighting and fireworks to celebrate national holidays? Why is this case? What are the benefits for the citizens?

Today’s time celebrations are associated with decorations such as lighting and fireworks and governments do huge expenditure on celebrating national holidays using lighting and firework in various countries. I strongly believe that governments spend lavishly on decorations on national holidays to impress citizens and show off country’s worth worldwide. Firstly, the government authorities excite citizens by organizing firework and lighting events on national holidays. The celebration of national holidays helps country people to enjoy and cherish their culture. In my country, national holidays such as Dusshera and Diwali are celebrated by individuals and government by organizing events in big grounds with lots of decorations and fireworks. Moreover, diwali is festival of lights so government spend lots of money to decorate and lighten each nook of the country. Secondly, Governments spend lavishly on decorations on national holidays such as Republic day, Independence day to showcase country’s pride across the world. Prime Minister of the country address the masses on these days with big parades at Red Fort in Delhi. Red fort decorations are eye catching and attention seeking, authorities shed more money on flower arrangements and welcoming guests. Citizens of the country are also welcomed to enjoy the event, some light and sound shows are also organized, this brings sense of nationalism and pride among them. In conclusion, many countries governments spending money on national holiday decorations such as lighting and fireworks for country's citizens. Authorities want citizens to enjoy national holidays and they also contribute with great decorations to show case country's pride. I strongly belief countryman appreciate authorities effort and money spend on celebrating national holidays.