In many countries, children spend long hours on homework. Some people think less homework can reduce student’s stress and give them a chance to develop other skills. What is your opinion about this?

Young students from different nations dedicate more hours of their day in doing their classwork. A few individuals opine that, decreasing the amount of school work will be less stressful and an opportunity to learn new skills. Although homework helps in retention of lessons taught at school, I believe that playing with friends and developing character is of more importance. Practice is essential for developing a strong foundation for success, so by doing homework regularly will help them build on their fundamentals. Children should spend some amount of time on their classwork in order to make sure they understand their concepts well and are able to practice by themself. It will not only encourage good understanding but also promote curiosity to learn more and develop their interest. For example, many scientists in India developed their interest in science in their school days. However, I argue that students should have the flexibility and be encouraged to explore things beyond school curriculum. In today’s competitive environment parents stress their child to focus on good grades and pay less importance to personality and character development. When kids play with friends, they learn most crucial aspects of life like trust and respect. It also helps them in exploring various emotions and how to deal with them. For instance, when facing defeat in games how to react to this feeling and support team members. Therefore, I believe that children should learn different soft skills and not only focus on their education. In conclusion, though education and schoolwork have its own merits, I maintain that the workload of students need to be reduced because development of social skills are vital to make a good citizen.