In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Income inequality is increasing every year at a rapid pace in different countries. A few people believe that this inequality in income is beneficial for the country whereas some people are of the opinion that administrative bodies around the world should place an upper cap on the amount of salary that an individual earns. This essay will discuss both the ideas and opine on them. A large section of people reckons that a country's GDP(Gross Domestic Product) attains a high value due to large salaries being earned by its citizens. GDP is directly proportional to the income of a country's citizens and higher GDP is indicative of economic growth. In contrast, some people feel that there should be an upper limit on a person's earnings to reduce income inequality. This is because in many countries, less than 10% of the population accounts for more than 50% of its wealth, whereas more than half of the population goes to sleep on an empty stomach. Therefore, limiting salaries is considered the need of the hour by many. In my opinion, the earnings of an individual should not be above a maximum value. This is because I believe that a country cannot make progress if it is dealing with non-uniform income levels. How can a country grow if most of its wealth is concentrated in the hands of a few people while a majority of its citizens struggle to feed themselves? For instance, in India, more than 70% of people are below the poverty line whereas most of the country's money rests with only a few people. To conclude, I would restate that although earning a high salary can increase a country's GDP, it will hinder its development because most of its citizens would struggle to make ends meet due to income inequality.