In many cities of the world, traffic congestion is a serious problem. What are the causes and what can be done about it?

Globally, road traffic is a dilemma, particularly in urban areas. The major reasons for this are rural-urban migration as well as poor maintenance culture of the cities, especially of infrastructure. There are a variety of ways to tackle this problems, however, development of rural areas and improvement upon existing forms of travelling are the best. First and foremost, overpopulation remains a major cause of traffic on roads worldwide. This is due to the fact that more people leave the rural areas to the cities in search of better job opportunities. The end result of which, is a significant increase in the number of motorvehicles, because they have to get to their places of work. Another reason is that most of the infrastructures in the cities are overworked due to the ever increasing population. This coupled with poor maintenance leaves the other sectors redundant, therefore, people would rely more on what they can trust, which most times are their personal cars. To deal with these obstacles, governments should disburse funds to develop local areas and make them more habitable for people, so that their businesses can thrive and they can stop migrating to the cities. In addition, the state can also put improve upon the other forms of transportation,   such as the underground railway system and aviation. This will help to reduce the number of cars on the road as people will prefer to take the faster means of transportation. For instance, a survey carried out in Nigeria, revealed that traffic reduced by almost forty percent in areas where the trains were highly functional. The problem of traffic congestion is becoming alarming. This is often caused by migration and lack of maintenance of other means of transport. The most effective ways to solve this problem are rural development and rehabilitation of the existing forms of transport, so as to reduce the influx of cars unto the road