In education system, assessment through formal written examination still valid?

The evaluation method of student performance has always been an area of contention around the world. Many people believe that students should be evaluated using regular projects and assignments. Many others believe in having a written examination to grade students on their performance. In this essay, we will discuss on why formal written evaluation is not the best approach to evaluate students. Many teaching institutions still follow the approach of having regular exams to assess and grade students. This kind of assessment creates a lot of pressure on students mind to memorize concepts few days before exams. Many students rather than understanding the subject, study to perform well in exam. The practical application of the subject is not tested due to these kind of assessments. Most of the educational institutions in developing countries, such as India and China follow formal written assessment for students. As a result of this, many students who are good with application of subject don't get good grades. With the changing times, many institutions are doing away with regular exams to assess students and are instead focusing on practical project work and assignments to evaluate students. Many primary schools now don't have a ranking system. Regular projects and homework assignments helps them to build their skill on subject. As a result of this, Students can focus on learning the subject rather than faring well in exams. As written exams are slowly diminishing from education system. Assessing students in a practical manner is more effective to judge students capabilities.