In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it positive or a negative development?

People often have various working ethics, some are known to be extremely hardworking, with a defined path and great progress. Others, however, might have a much poorer work ethic, this applies to slightly lazy people whose main goals are not associated with their work or education. I think this is mainly because people tend to have different goals in life, and some live in a different environment to others. One reason as to why many people are often hard workers, is because of high competition among their peers or colleagues. In schools, for example, people often compete between one another for the highest grades and better achievements. Universities favor students with excellent grades, which is why many pupils strive for perfection. This also translates into the workplace where staff work to gain higher positions in the business. Additionally, some people come from poorer backgrounds, which means that they need to work extra hard to achieve their aspirations and thereby create a better life for themselves. On the other hand, people who were born into wealth do not necessarily have to be hard workers, as they already have money and likely good connections in the world. However, it is also important to remember that hard work does not always pay off. We live in a complicated world and our success cannot be controlled by us only, as much as people would love to be the ones in control of their life, decisions often fall into the hands of strangers. Luck is an important factor in gaining what you want. People always see those few musicians who get onto talent shows and get discovered by large musical producers, kick starting their careers. But there are millions of other musicians who might be working just as hard, but simply did not get as lucky as their counterparts. Moreover, networking is also part of what defines success, with good connections in whatever field you are trying to develop in you are automatically at an advantage to others, as your connections might help you get what you want. In conclusion, I think that the ability to be a hard worker is an important quality, which may pay off in the long run, however it is not the only factor which determines success, and sometimes our fate is uncontrollable to us.