In countries, students are encouraged to take a year after high school to work or travel. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Give examples

Taking time off from formal education has become an on-going trend among the younger generation. It is a pause between the end of high school and the beginning of a university year. Although some students would spend the year touring different countries, others would get a job or volunteer. Nonetheless, this essay would discuss how the growth the individual attains is more advantageous than the drawback of an academic sidetrack Firstly, the advantages from taking a year off school are enormous. It ultimately encourages maturity. The student gets to experience a well-rounded professional, intellectually, culturally and self growth. For example; a student who spends the year travelling would be exposed to diverse cultural background which will in turn push them beyond the boundaries of their norms. They would get to try different cuisines and communicate with natives of the country they are visiting. Furthermore, a young individual that decided to work would experience the work place setting which would constantly test their ideas and believes. This heightened self-awareness and maturity are therefore more beneficial. However, being away from formal education for such extended period of time can be detrimental to the young person’s academics. The break can result in the student losing a sense of discipline they had while in a school. In addition, there is a high tendency of becoming distracted. For example, they may become deluded with the money they are making which would rob them the chance of a university or college education. Hence, the future opportunity to earn higher income later in life becomes impossible as a result of these complications from study break. In conclusion, the decision to take time off school to earn a living or travel is an individual resolve. However, in my opinion, I think the benefits as a result of the level maturity to attain surpasses the disadvantage of some students misplaced priority.