In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In this day and age, traffic congestion, which is caused by an enormous amount of vehicles, has become inevitable and more serious in each passing day. There are a variety of possible reasons for this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem. There are many reasons for the massive number of vehicles, the most obvious of which is the overpopulation. Nowadays, rural people tend to migrate to more developed cities to get more job opportunities and a higher standard of living that both of which lead to overpopulation. To illustrate, there has been a huge difference between the population density in rural and urban areas - the areas of dense and sparse population respectively. As a result, the commuting demand in most of the metropolises has increased day by day. Another contributory factor is that people prefer to use the private vehicle over public transportation because of the poor quality of private vehicles. Personal vehicle distinguished from public transport by its convenience and flexibility. Using public transportation is extremely time-consuming. Whereas, if people commute by personal vehicle on a regular basis, an enormous amount of exhaust fumes and emission will be release and traffic jam will have no improvement. Initiatives can be taken to improve the situation. Firstly, commuters tend to travel to work simultaneously. Therefore, in order to ease congestion, we should change our working habits and government ought to encourage people to stay inside during rush hours. Secondly, the government needs to focus on developing the public transport system. Especially in developing countries, buses are definitely inadequte to respond to the demand of their citizens. The government might consider with regard to other public transport like bicycles. Developing the bicycle system all around the city will bring a lot of benefits to the people and the city itself. It is also safer for the environment and has positive effects on the riders’ health. In conclusion, worldwide cities and towns are facing pressing traffic issue these days due to the overpopulation and the huge amount of private vehicle. However, we can significantly curb traffic by changing our working habits and diversify public transportation.