In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other older people where the nurses took after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for thier care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

There is no doubt that older generation is dealing with lots of physical and mental health problems. In most of the countries like Britain, people at their old age usually prefer to live in a house with someone of thier same age under the full care of nurses. And in order to offer such cares government has to pay sometimes. I believe the government should pay for old age care because in most of the cases, family considers their elder members as financial burden for them, and as old people generally do not work at this age so they can not afford their basic and medical expenses. The prime reason why government should take responsibility for paying the old care homes is, families are irresponsible towards their elderly. Nowadays, most of the people in family believes that the older member of their family are just financial burden for them, which sometimes leads to psychological or mental health problems among old people. This is probably because at this age old people usually suffers a lot mentally or physically with problems like Arthritis, Insomnia, Survival pains or Cardiovascular diseases. And in order to take good care of them, old people have to spend a lot of their money in medical facilities. Thus, If government will pay for such facilities, then old people have to face less problems, and all their expenses can be easily handled. For example, A recent survey stated that almost 70% of the families are sending their elderly to old home cares, to get rid off the burden they assume they have to pay for medical expenses. Another possible reason could be, old age people generally in this age do not work and most of them even do not have any source of income such as pension schemes or daily wages to spend the amount to fulfill their basic necessities and to manage everything on their own. In negative effect of this, sometimes old  people has to do labour works or to beg, just to manage their expenses. In order to support the old generation of the country and to make them independent, government should definitely contribute in the payment of old age home care. For example, in country like the USA, the authorities has started new initiati e of offering monthly payment of $1000 to all the old age people residing in the old age cares. In conclusion, most countries like Britain has the trend of elderly people like to stay in a home with other old age people under full attention of nurses. And for paying this old age care facilities government should make the payment due to the family 's careless nature and unemployment of older people.