In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is common in England, for older people to live with other elderly in an old-age home where attendants are available to take care of them, and the government pays for the facility in some occasions. In my opinion, these facilities should always be paid by the government because of two reasons. The older men and women should get rewarded for contributing towards the community and all families are not able to afford the care required for an elderly. First of all, the older people should get rewarded for their all hard work and time they already contributed towards the betterment of the society. An average employee works almost 45 years until he is retired and pay a huge amount in taxes through his whole life. It is responsibility of the government to take care of older people when they cannot have energy to take care of themselves. Majority of population in the United Kingdom is elderly and it is extremely vital to sustain a healthy sense of community to maintain such facilities for older people at governmental levels. As a person grows older, he is more dependant on others and not all families can afford qualified professional nurses and it results in poor care of such elderly people. It is family responsibility to take care of their old people, however anyone can manage to take care the needs of an elderly and sometimes it needs the availability of a professional caretaker. For instance, if an elderly requires to administer regular medicines then a state sponsored nurse should attend them. To summarize, the government has essential role to take care of older people and maintain such facilities where they can spend their lives in peace and with best care possible to reward for their contributions and not only depend on their families if they cannot afford the care.