Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour.

Different views exist on how to correctly control the behaviour of children in order to form them into well developed adults. While a number of people think that good behaviour ought to be properly rewarded, others also believe they should also be chastised for bad behaviour. In order to evaluate this properly this essay will primarily focus on why some think good behaviour should be rewarded, besides also showing why a number of people think bad behaviour should be punished and finishing with why I believe that both may be useful when used in moderation. While some may think otherwise, a number of people believe rewarding children for good behaviour is a essential tool, because rewarding good behaviour will lead to more positive behaviour from the child in the future, thus leading to a well behaved child. For instance, if a good grade from the child, is rewarded by an ice-cream, it will be incentivized in the future to obtain better grades. So as to motivate the child to do its best, rewarding good behaviour is viewed as paramount among certain people. However there are those that also believe punishing bad behaviour is a adequate reaction, this is seem by a number of people as a way to halt future mistakes. As an example the confiscation of a child’s video games after a bad report card, therefore showing the child that if they do not improve future punishments will come. In other words this is a similar view as the previous one, whereas punishing the mistakes in the present will hopefully affect the child’s behaviour in the future. Finally, it seems to me that both are good when used in moderation, parents or guardians should be careful not to go to extremes so as to not cause anguish to the child. To exemplify my point, in the case of too much pressure introduced by rewards or punishments this can lead to additional stress to the child. Causing it to be afraid of reactions of parents therefore not helping its development at all. In conclusion, both techniques can undoubtedly work when used properly, parents must however be cautious no to put their child’s health or mental state at risk, owing to the need to act softly.