In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from you own knowledge or experience.

Who should be responsible for us when we get old? (Thesis statement - must have) As we all know, social welfare for old people in Britain is one of the reasons for making this place worth living. However, its policies are still addressed on a fragmented rather than holistic basis. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care, sometimes not. This essay is written to analyse the question: Who should pay for the wellbeing of citizens when they get old? It is obvious that everyone has to take responsibility for their life, even in their old age. The government only supports who lack the ability to live on their own. Except for that case, personally, I think that other parties like their employers or insurance companies have to take part in this affair. There is no doubt that we spend most of our time on contribution to our companies and investment in life insurance for securing our lives. Hence, we deserve a better life caring reward from them when we are not able to work any more. However, it should be taken into consideration that some old people’s family have enough financial potential to pay for their health and happiness. In this situation, we should leave the responsibility to their relatives, especially mature children. It is not only to reduce the financial burden for the government but also somewhat to show respect to parents for their effort in nurturing us before. The only thing to pay attention to is that the family does not have to take this as a mandatory duty but a preferable one as it depends on their families' ability. In the meantime, old people still could pay for themselves if they are able to. It gives them freedom in mind besides independence in their physical daily lives. For instance, in Singapore today, there are elders who are still working even though they are over working-age and have their children taking care of them. Nevertheless, they still need support from the government or the family and should not be the people in charge because of their aged mind and body condition. On that account, the government can still pay partly for old people’s care but must have other policies to encourage or even force others who are related to and responsible for them to share the duty. That is both for their safety and for the social finance’s balance.