In Britain when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or family?

In recent years, an increasing number of elderly people from all over the world – UK, in particular- are choosing to live in retirement homes for the rest of their lives. From the viewpoint of a number of people, the government should be held responsible for covering all the associated costs of living in such places, whereas others opine that families ought to pay for their expenditures. However, it is my firm belief that the governments should hold the complete responsibility of paying all the costs. Analyzing the contribution of seniors to the economy through paying taxes together with their contribution towards pension programs are corroborative evidence for such a stance, in their entirety. Firstly, certain individuals might be too aged to pay for the other members of the household. Several countries nowadays, have a graying society, due to better standards of living as well as advancement in medical technology, such as several vaccinations, surgeries and availability of treatments. To cite an example, one-third of Japan's population will be above 65 in the coming years. This means that a 70 year old man might have to provide for his parents who are in their 90's, which is impossible as well as impractical, as the former himself might be surviving solely on his savings. Therefore, the authorities should bear the expenditure with the taxpayer money. Secondly, due to financial constraints, every family unit might not have enough to to support the seniors. To illustrate this, in this competitive world, it is becoming harder for people to earn and fulfill the basic demands. In such a situation, if they have to care for the aged members too, it might worsen their condition. Besides that, the now old population were active a few years ago, and contributed to the economy by paying taxes as well as contributing towards pension plans. For example, every employee in the USA, pays a part of their earnings towards Registered Retirement Savings Plan. Hence, it is only fair that the nation expanses, for their needs. To conclude, I firmly believe, that the country should sponsor the needs of the graying population, as several citizens might be very aged as well as restricted by their budget, to support them. For this reason, the state should establish funds for the care of the elderly along with pension benefits.