In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In older age, British people tend to live in a separate home where there are nurses to take care for them instead of living with their families. The expense of their care is often covered by the government but in my opinion it should be bear by both their own family and the state. Firstly, the family and relatives are close to the older people and they should be responsible for taking care of them even if they are located at the old age home. When family is not involved in this process and the whole expense is on the shoulder of state, the health of the older people are often ignored by both of the institutions. So it is important to engage their family as well in this process to make sure that the aged people are getting proper care they needed. Secondly, since the government has a limited budget of health therefore including the health program of old people will definitely burden the budget. Supposing this scenario and to overcome the burden the state will have to impose taxes on public which will eventually decrease individual's saving and also affect the economic growth. For this reason, it is not fruitful that government shall take full responsibility of overall health of their senior citizens. To conclude, as a legal and moral right, aged people shall be given full health coverage at the time of need and it should be a shared responsibility of the state and belonging family to take care of their older ones.