In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Nowadays, it is a widespread experience in Britain that old people continue their lives in homes for elderly. Those homes include medical care with nurses and doctors along with coverage of all the needs of the old people. Unfortunately, the price of staying in such homes is quite high. As a result, there is a discussion about who shall pay for such homes, whether it is the government's responsibility to cover such expenses or the family shall make all the payments. From one side, there are views mentioning that the government is the establishment responsible for every single life of its resident. As retirement does not mean that the corresponding person stops existing and the government shall forget about him/her, this view owners highlight that the government shall take care of paying for services in homes for old people. On the other hand, there is an opinion outlining that the family of an old person must be responsible for all the future expenses of the old person. This point is justified by the fact that when sending their old relatives to such homes, families stop taking care of them. Hence, families are the ones who should pay. In my opinion, the price of staying in homes for elderly should be divided into two parts. One part of the payment should be done by the family of the concrete person and the other part of the payment should be performed by the government. In this way, the corresponding person will feel that he/she is valued both by the county and by his/her family.