Excessive consumption of fast foods generates health hazards. Its becoming necessary for government to increase taxes on fast food.

The culture of eating fast food has caught up with people in a dangerous way. Countries are seeing an exponential rise in the number of people developing health hazards as a result of too much consumption of fast foods. In consequence, governments are imposing higher taxes on such consumables. This essay will justify this step taken by the government and hence will agree with this opinion. Fast foods attract the public with their convenience and low costs. People are consuming fast foods as a three-course meal and it has taken a toll on their health. The governments are worried as their citizens are becoming obese and laden with physical diseases. To tackle this issue, governments should increase food tax on such food items to discourage people from consuming them. This will prevent people from readily expending on fast foods and at the same time, it will not kill the fast-food market entirely. A similar step was taken by the Prime Minister of my country, wherein food tax on famous fast-food joints like McDonald’s and Burger Kings was increased and they were regulated more strictly. This step proved beneficial and it greatly reduced the daily number of visitors to these fast-food joints. But is increasing taxes the only way to bring the situation under control? After all, consumption of fast food is the choice of the individual. Therefore, the government cannot be held responsible alone to fight this situation. It is the duty of the citizens to make a healthy choice when it comes to their physical and mental being. People should choose nutritious food over fast foods because it not only improves their physical health, it also strengthens their mental well-being. Consuming fast food once in a while is okay but it should not be your first choice. If people are more conscious in their decisions, increasing food tax would not be a necessary step. In conclusion, I believe that increasing food tax is an effective way to control the number of fast-food consumers, and hence reduce the health hazards associated with their consumptions. However, people should also be aware of their health and should exercise control over the consumption of fast foods.