In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

The old age homes with nursing care in Britain, are often funded by the government. There are various reasons for elderly people to choose to live in an old age home and it is the responsibility of the government to pay for their care and shelter. Firstly, an old and sick person is not able to perform his daily tasks without help. He is un able to earn for a living because of his age and is unable to pay for his care. For example, In USA, pension from the government facilitates the retired and old people to carry out their lives peacefully in their homes. Secondly, Many times people choose old age homes due to the fact that there is no one from their immediate family to take care for them. Hence, they need care and company to spend their days. For example, A person whose all family members passed away, either working in different cities or studying may not have time to look after their elderly, hence they choose old age homes for their elderly. Hence it is concluded that the weight of the responsibility for paying for old age homes lies on the government than their families because not every old age person has a family or has a care taker to look after them. Moreover, people get old and retired after serving their whole life to the country. Hence its is the country's responsibility to pay them back for their services to take care of them when needed.