In an essay of up to 300 words, answer this question: Choose ONE of these 3 countries: Thailand, Italy and Mexico and evaluate the current solutions of that nation regarding the negative environmental effects due to overtourism.

Tourism has significant impacts on the economy of every nation. Nonetheless, when the number of tourists gets out of control, it will undoubtedly bring about serious environmental issues since it boosts the usage of water, increases waste, air pollution, etc. The mission of countries suffering from overtourism is to figure out the most effective methods to handle these problems. This essay is written as an evaluation of Thailand’s resolutions in solving the mentioned trouble. In Thailand, the destination most severely affected by overtourism is Maya Bay. Located in Phi Phi Island, since 2000, as it was a shooting place for the Hollywood movie “The Beach”, its popularity skyrocketed. As a result, the sharp rise in the number of tourists, which was up to 5000 in high season, brought detrimental effects on the ecosystem of Maya Bay. Conservationists estimate that approximately 80% of the coral reef in Maya Bay is destroyed by tourism activities: snorkelers, pollution from boats, and waste that is disposed of irresponsibly. To deal with this hot potato, in June 2018, the Thai government announced the closing of Maya Bay for a period of 4 months to give time for the ecosystems in Maya Bay to recover. The closure was then extended to the middle of 2021. The government decided to build a new floating dock, washrooms and an eco-focused boardwalk, and an electronic ticketing system put in place to cap daily visitor numbers at about 1, 200 people per day. Boats will also must include digital trackers on board if they want to moor in the waters. Maya Bay used to be a stunning place for tourists to visit. Unfortunately, proper care was not taken to ensure the area was not severely damaged due to the inopportune action taken by the government. There are tons of reasons to make certain the environment should be a key concern whenever traveling in addition to the trash on the beaches of Maya Bay. The solution of Thailand, closing the place, was the late effort to maintain the ecosystem. Nevertheless, it is auspicious to know that the Thai government is willing to forgo economy activity on the island to save it from the negative effects of overtourism. By consolidating the facilities and limiting the number of tourists, this nation is gradually showing their concern in preserving its tourist attractions. Late as it was, the solution gave hope that Thailand will concentrate more on overtourism and bring about more accurate decisions to cope with this issue.