In achieving personal happiness, our relationships with other people are more important than anything else. Issues such as work and wealth take second place. Argue in support of this claim.

The increasing pressures of a money-driven world can often cause people to gravitate toward material items; however, individuals cannot attain personal happiness through work, success and wealth. Although these things may be extras, many people believe that healthy relationships are the secrets to personal happiness. This essay will argue that relationships create happiness in peoples' lives, as such analyzing the lonely lives of celebrities and the experience of the elderly living alone. Firstly, the lives of wealthy celebrities often illustrate that money cannot buy happiness. For example, despite being fabulously wealthy, Robbie Williams and Kirsten Dunst suffered from clinical depression. As their experiences show, the link between money and true happiness appears not to be as strong as the link between loneliness and unhappiness. Hence, relationships between people are more important than money. Secondly, the advice from many older people regularly reiterates this. For instance, all four of my grandparents claim family and friends to be the things that brought them the greatest happiness in their lives. These sentiments are more among the elderly, and they realize this further as they become old in different cultures and countries. Thus, human relationships are much more likely to be precursors to personal happiness than money or careers. In conclusion, as seen above, wealth cannot buy true happiness, and this is a realization that often comes in old age. The relationships formed with family, friends and colleagues are the catalysts to lasting happiness. Therefore, the adage holds real: the more love a person gives, the more they get.