In a public-funded healthcare system, people who are willing to pay for the best and fast treatment should be able to do so. with this statement?

Universities have a set of guidelines for providing admission to students. Nowadays the selection procedure of the institution is getting tougher thereby making it difficult for students irrespective of their economic background to pass through. I agree with the notion that accessing elite education is difficult for both rich and poor. This essay will discuss the requirements of colleges and challenges being faced by students. To begin with, candidates belonging to low income group suffer major problem of financing their college education and living expenses. Top universities across the world for providing quality education charge high tuition fees which are difficult for poor students to cover on their own. Although Universities provide scholarships, these are limited in number and doesn't cover the living expenses. For instance, studying at Stanford University on an average would cost $40-50K and along with living expenses the total cost would around $50-60K, even though 50% concession is provided still $30K is a huge amount for poor students to cover. So, a limited number of assistantships provided by institutions forces candidates from low income group to avoid college education. Therefore, money is one primary reason behind making elite education inaccessible for the low income group people. While money is not a concern for wealthy students, their blockage is passing the academic criteria of colleges. Most of the top universities today not only focuses on grades obtained in standardised test, but they look for the complete educational background of the candidates. These institutions today are looking for academic excellence. For instance, getting admission into any Ivy League college it is required for a student to have high grades in primary and secondary school, awards or achievements in other fields like sports, music, social services etc. So, these requirements collectively make it harder for any affluent student to clear the selection criteria. Therefore, high standards of academic requirements act as barrier for wealthy students in accessing the college education. To conclude, in my view both rich and poor students are facing challenges in getting admission to their desired institutions be it monetary limitations or high academic requirements. This essay discussed the blockages in the pathway of accessing University education irrespective of the economic background of the people.