In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railways lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In some countries, is argued that it is important to spend a large amount of money on building new railways routes between cities for high-speed trains. While others think that funds ought to be spent on enhancing current public transport. Although new railways lines could make commuting easier therefore, people could save time while commuting between cities, I believe that it is cheaper to update present public transport. On the one hand, fast trains are more convenient because they help citizen to commute with ease between cities. That is to say that using these kind of trains make people avoid traffic jams and other road obstacles, which are considered time consuming, thus, people may use this time in more useful things. For example, in Chine, most workers use high-speed trains, which saved them half an hour every morning that most of them use to exercise or read. However, I believe that funds should be invested in enhancing public transport due to the fact that it costs less to develop present public transport. On the other hand, investing money in improving current transportation might be cheaper and faster than building new railways lines. This is because every new construction needs time and money, therefore, it is better for the government to save time and money in enhancing existing public transport such as repairing the roads that are used by public transportation or adding more public busses. For instance, research conducted by the BBC revealed that Canadian Government saved 40% of their funds by adding new public busses and trams than building new railways between cities. In my opinion, public transport could also be used in commuting, therefore, it is better to save some money and time and use them in enhancing cities’ infrastructure or building new schools or hospitals. In conclusion, despite that high-speed trains are easier to use for commuting between cities, I think that if public transportations are improved, citizens would commute using them, thus, government will save money and time.