In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Nowadays a large number of people commute to and from work on a daily basis. For many of them, high-speed trains are the preferred method of transportation for a reason. Others think that there is no need for them and funds are better to be invested in the reconstruction of existing railway lines and the purchase of new regular trains. On the one hand, most people prefer to live outside cities as the land and accommodation there are at more affordable prices. However, they continue working in the urban areas. For these citizens, it is essential to be able to get to work as fast as possible as it saves time. High-speed trains are a solution to them. In addition, they do not need to focus on the traffic, be careful with their own driving or the behavour of other drivers on the road and can even do some work while on the train. On the other hand, investing big amounts of money in high-speed railways and high-speed trains will lead to higher ticket prices which in turn might benefit other kinds of transport such as busses or ferries. However, while making plans for improving existing public transport, governments should consider environmental pollution, especially pollution from exhaust fumes and fossil fuels. In conclusion, public transport is an issue which affects not only commuters but the whole population. Therefore, taxes paid by people should be spent on that type of transport which is most beneficial to society. In other words, I am convinced that for a better life and cleaner environment the idea of high-speed trains should be accepted.