A large number of advertisements nowadays are targeted at children. Many people believe that this has negative effects on children and should therefore be banned.

Currently, a large amount of advertising is aimed at adolescents and some people feel that it should be banned because it has detrimental effects on teenagers. Personally, I agree with the above notion that there should be a ban on this trend. First of all, I admit that choosing children as the target for marketing strategies are deleterious to both individuals and their parents. As, advertising companies mostly choose TV actors and models to promote their products because teenagers are easily get influenced by them and they want to buy the products because they think it is better for them as their role models are advertising it and due to this, they insist their parents to buy these and thus, it can upset the budget of many families. For example, every year Apple introduce new versions of their products and by doing so, they can simply attract adolescents to buy their products, and as a result it can creates some disturbance between parents and teenagers because they are quite expensive and their parents can not afford it due to lower budget. Moreover, I also consider that it has a great negative impact on youngster’s health because advertisements of junk food and snacks, sometime misleads the teenagers and they also hide the truth behind their products. For example, ads of instant noodles and soft drinks on TV are often known as unhealthy food but the way of their representation by colourful pictures and characteristics, put pressure on children to eat them by the knowing the facts that they are unhealthy for them and may cause serious problems such as obesity and diabetes. In conclusion, we can see that advertising is targeted at children has some negative effects because it can affect the budget of their parents and their health, which can create some serious issues for them in future, therefore, I also think that it should be restricted.