In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

While a certain amount of people believe investing large quantities of money in order to improve existing public transport, quite a few people are convinced that the construction of new, state of the art railway lines for quicker trains would be advantageous. After discussing why renovation of existing transport is severely needed, there will be an explanation why I believe that construction of new railways lines is a better option. More investment is necessary to restore failing existing public transport. Despite the increase in population, along with the growth of the number of people that travel long distances every day, a lot of the public transport systems have yet to be properly modernised. For example, in London the Underground has almost tripled its customers in recent years, while making almost no new additions and not replacing old equipment. Because of this, overcrowding is dangerously high, and trains often breakdown causing chaos among the centre of one of the biggest cities on earth. Therefore, it is obvious that a certain amount of funds must be set aside to improve already existing transport. Meanwhile, I firmly believe that it is sometimes unavoidable not to spend significant amounts to build the next generation of railway lines, in order to speed up commutes between cities using fast trains. For instance, before the installation of the TGV (high speed train ) in France, the voyage from Paris to Perpignan took almost 10 hours, due to the TGV this time has since been halved. Due to this improvement, a city viewed as too distant in the past, has been brought closer, and in turn this has led to an increase in investments in the city. This is one of the many reasons why I am convinced that high speed trains are essential to ensure smaller towns are not left behind. To conclude, whereas improving existing public transport may have its benefits, I believe these are dwarfed by the potential impact a high speed train can have by connecting cities.