In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Shelter is one of the people’s basic needs in life. For some people, investing in their own houses is essential as compared to leasing. This issue brings about a number of consequences, I am of the opinion that this leads to more benefits than potential drawbacks. One of the benefits of having a own home is, this can be an investment. Real estate value increases overtime and purchasing a property early will lead to higher gains in the future. Furthermore, there are many studies that say home value rises overtime, with a minimum average of 3-5% annually because of the law of supply and demand; strong demand leads to low in supply which will further increase the value of one’s investment. In addition, a house and lot can be passed by to the children when the parents pass away. Alast will and testament should be accomplished and acknowledged by a lawyer for it to be valid and have a smooth transition. In return, their children need not to purchase their own house, and they can divert their money to purchase other things. Lastly, it is now a common trend to buy a house with a mortgage since some banks offer housing loans with 30 or more years to pay plans with an interest. Longer loan terms will lead to lower monthly loan fees which can be almost equal to the monthly rental fee. As an effect, paying will not be a burden to the buyer because they can treat it as their budget for renting but as the year goes by, their debt for the house is being paid. In conclusion, I am of the view that this tendency of people purchasing their own house is largely a positive situation. This is not only to provide one’s basic needs but also serves as an investment, something to pass on to children, and the gratification after the loan has been paid.