Importing foreign films and tv shows

People have differing views with regard to the question of whether it is advantageous for the culture of a nation to import movies and television shows from abroad or shoot them locally. While there are some benefits to introducing foreign films and TV programmes, I would argue that home film production is usually more preferable. There are some reasons why people might assume that it is better to purchase foreign shows and films. Firstly, a country seem to become more civilized. To clarify, its citizens can acquire some knowledge about its customs and traditions, political or economic system. As a result, people have a broader outlook which can be essential to accelerate integration process when they go abroad. Furthermore, foreign movies and shows are proven to impact positively to the language acquisition of a person. As a learner can watch authentic shows, become aware of native people's lifestyle. For example, Non-native learner of English can gain major benefits and master language skills by watching Friends series or sitcoms on a daily basis. In spite of above arguements, I support the view that local media production is significant for any nation's culture. The substantial benefit is that it can save national budget. Instead of wasting money for the copyright of movies produced overseas, pouring finance to domestic media industry would boost the system which works for the prosperity of the country. Another compelling case is that it also has an importance in preserving traditions and customs. To demonstrate, if younger generation is introduced shows and movies which are shot taking national values into consideration, they grow up with a respect towards culture's traditions and festivals such as not Halloween or Christmas, but Navruz which is one of the most essential holidays in Asian countries. In conclusion, it can have some benefits in language learning or broadening horizon if overseas movies and shows are imported, but the advantages of local media outweighs them as far as national budget and traditional values are concerned.