If your friend wants to reduce living expenses, what would you suggest? - find a roommate to share the rent. - buy technology equipment less frequently. - buy cheaper food to cook at home.

Along with the rapid development in society, the increase in living expenses has become an inevitable problem for almost all the young people living in cities, which triggered a heated debate on what the most effective way is in an attempt to save living costs. Some people argue that youngsters should find a roommate or purchase food at a lower price. However, from my perspective, the most efficacious method to control the expenses is to reduce the frequency of buying new digital devices. A high priority is reducing the frequency of buying new high-tech equipment is the most feasible way among the three options. To begin with, we can achieve our goal of saving money without sacrificing the quality of life. In detail, as digital devices like smartphones and laptops are manufactured in a more advanced manner, their lifespans have been expanded. As a result, we can maintain our high-tech equipment for a much more extended period than we did five or ten years ago. In other words, reducing the frequency of acquiring new equipment will not cause any inconvenience to our life. However, if we deliberately purchase cheaper food, this foodstuff is likely to be of low quality, which will threaten our health. Also, if we find a roommate to share the fee, we may encounter particular difficulties like the conflict of living habits, which may also become a concern of our life. Thus, cutting down the expenses by procuring less equipment is the most effective way. Equally importantly, dispensing less budget to buy digital devices can save the greatest amount of money among those three methods. To start with, digital devices, especially smartphones and personal computers, are typical hardware. Hardware sellers will be inclined to attach multiple software to the devices in order to generate more revenue by encouraging customers to purchase the services in the applications that are installed in the equipment. Such example like phone games abounds. In this case, equipment users can hardly consume a single piece of hardware but buy the attached services. Consequently, the actual expenses tend to be much greater than our expectations. Young people may buy much more virtual goods than their perception. Conversely, the expenses of housing and eating are much purified compared with the cost of technology equipment. Under no circumstance can we make such a longtail consumption through buying food or paying housing bills. As a result, only by purchasing fewer digital devices can we save the greatest amount of money. In a nutshell, many approaches can be taken into consideration in terms of cutting down living expenses. However, it is noteworthy that fewer purchases on technology equipment can enable us to maintain our quality of life and avoid unnecessary consumption.