If you could travel back in time to meet a famous person from history, what person would you like to meet? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Nowadays, there are a plethora of celebrities and historical personalities, nevertheless, if I had an opportunity to travel back in time to meet one popular historical person, I would certainly select Leo Tolstoy. The specific factors influencing my choice are his literary works, charity works and his ideas of politics, life and education. It is substantial that literature plays an integral and crucial role in society, therefore meeting Leo Tolstoy would be not only interesting, but also educative. Leo Tolstoy had numerous novels and compositions which are still read and respected today. A good illustration for this can be Harvard university’s « the best literature of all the times» list where Tolstoy’s « War and peace» took first place and « Anna Karenina » third place. Additionally, this statement is attested by the fact that every year from 1902 to 1906 he received «Nobel Prize» in Literature and «Nobel Peace Prize» till 1909. Due to the existence of this kind of facts, I still would opt for meeting Leo Tolstoy if I had an opportunity to travel back in time. Conspicuously, there were numerous nobles and authors in 19-20th centuries, nonetheless, charity work was not popular among them. In Russia, 1890s were arduous and tough times, especially for poor people, since there was great hunger and in winter temperature was below minus 30. Despite given above facts, Leo Tolstoy organized 1000 eateries for more than 15, 000 people. Furthermore, Leo Tolstoy’s youngest daughter had community which helped Russian refugees from europe and ussr. The existence of this kind of facts demonstrate the correctness of my choice. It is crystal clear that 1860s were laborious times, especially when it came to religion and education. Tolstoy’s trip to europe in 1860 shaped his religious, educational and political beliefs. Obviously, the difference between European and Russian education systems were huge, therefore Tolstoy’s opinion on Russian education was negative, as well as on Russian politics. However, Tolstoy could not live in europe for long period, the particular reason for this circumstance is the colossal contrast europeans see between poor and rich people. Evidence for this is provided in his small books « Lucern» and «What I believe in». If I had a chance to travel back in time and to select one person to meet, my choice would be totally Leo Tolstoy. To conclude everything that has been stated so far, due to the materiality of given above facts, if I had an opportunity to choose one historical person to meet, this person would be Leo Tolstoy.