With the rise of e-books comes the decline in papers books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Although some argue that e-books benefit the environment as they are eco-friendly and more flexible to carry, others see them as a threat to society because they affect humans adversely and are vulnerable to piracy. Firstly, using e-books will have several benefits to the environment because it decreases deforestation. By stopping deforestation which is done exclusively for producing paper, there will be a decrease in pollution which directly affects our planet by preventing global warming and the greenhouse effect. Furthermore, e-books are considered very reliable and portable when compared to traditional paper books. This is because digital books give the reader flexibility to read and carry them in a single storage device. Nowadays, most companies like Amazon Kindle offer digital books to their viewers and as per the statistics, digital books have become more popular and are most preferred in recent times. On the other hand, digital books can have adverse effects on the health of people. As these are read on electronic devices, increasing the screen time which is proven to not only damage eyes-sight but also affect the sleep cycle of the readers. Moreover, digitally saved books are more prone to be pirated compared to paper books, as it is easy to share them on the internet. For example, most authors and publishers lose their credibility and profits due to their books getting shared on social media platforms. As per the recent survey, more than 50% of the publishers have lost a significant amount of their revenue due to the illegal sharing of their digitally published books. In conclusion, electronic books are the future of the education industry and should be taken as a positive development because it reduces pollution and storage. However, the owners should also take care in encrypting the digital books to protect re-sharing and extra efforts to be taken by the readers not spending more time as it affects their sleep routine.